New Albany, Union County, Mississippi, 1891

The seat of justice of Union County is New Albany, which is located at the intersection of the Gulf & Chicago and Kansas City, Memphis & Birmingham railways, and has a population of eleven hundred and twenty-five.

It is the center of a growing local trade, and a shipping point of importance. Its schools and churches are numerous, and its business and professional men and citizens generally are of a class unusually intelligent, well educated and refined.

Wallerville, Ellistown, Blue Springs, Keownville, Baker, Ingomar, Rocky Ford and Myrtle are the other towns and trading points in Union county.


Back to: Mississippi Counties, Cities and Towns, 1891

Source: Biographical and Historical Memories of Mississippi, Goodspeed Publishing Company, 1891

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on email
Share on print

1 thought on “New Albany, Union County, Mississippi, 1891”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Copyright © 2019 Mississippi Genealogy